Super League

All six Premier League teams involved in the European Super League have formally withdrawn from the competition.

Manchester City were the first club to formally pull out after Chelsea had signalled their intent to do so by preparing documentation to withdraw.

The other four sides – Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham – have all now followed suit。

Manchester City confirmed they have “formally enacted the procedures to withdraw” from the Super League.

See the source image

Liverpool said their involvement in the proposed breakaway league “has been discontinued”.


Read:McGregor considering buying Manchester United

Manchester United said they had “listened carefully to the reaction from our fans, the UK government and other key stakeholders” in making their decision to not take part.

Arsenal apologised and said they had “made a mistake”, adding they were withdrawing after listening to their fans and the “wider football community”.

Tottenham chairman Daniel Levy said the club regretted the “anxiety and upset” caused by the proposal.

More to follow…



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here